To quickly catch you up if you haven't read Master Plan and Master Plan Take Two...
The basis of Master Plan was we are going to have a highly structured morning with a full on check list and get all of our school work done sitting together at the dining room table in one hour. What went wrong with that is that my kids all fought for my attention and distracted each other and boy did that hour get long.
So, Take Two - my plan was to work with each kid individually while the other kids had "research time" (time to explore any topic they wanted) on the computers. I worked with each kid between 30 and 45 minutes and then adding on transition time, so that meant that everyone was getting at least 1.5 hours of computer time. Also, what was meant to be research time quickly became half research time and half game time... and down from there.
The good thing about Take Two was that by working individually with each of my kids they really learned what they needed to do and gained the ability to do it independently. Yeah for little triumphs! The other thing we learned is that the more screen time my kids get the more miserable they are to parent. They now have 1 hour of screen time a day - usually at night after dinner is cleaned up so that gives me and Gavriel and hour to get stuff done, or talk to each other or just decompress before the bedtime routine starts. Adin usually uses his time to play a game called Stronghold and the girls have been watching some shows (My Little Pony, Horseland, and now Avatar). We do find that screen time is such a slippery slope and are constantly having to reign in how much and what they are watching.
What was also challenging about Take Two is that we were stuck in the house all morning and I felt that we were not getting anything done besides Math and some basic Language Arts. So, I decided to loosen the structure and let the kids know that they could do their assignments at any point during the day but they had to get them done in order to have screen time at night. Screen time is still the biggest motivating factor for my children. I definitely have mixed feelings about that - the details of which will maybe and maybe not be discussed at another time.
That created a little honeymoon in our home where I felt like we could flow a little better and follow emergent energy and now I feel that we are ready to make a shift again.
This seems really true to me about homeschooling - at least the way it's working for us - we are constantly having to reevaluate what's working and what's not and making tweaks here and there. For me it feels like a dance between making structures and then feeling restricted in some way by those structures so we loosen up and then at some point things start to unravel a bit too much and I start longing for a bit more structure. I do keep fantasizing that one day we will find this magical sweet spot or that the movement back and forth between structure and emergent energy will somehow flow sweetly. However, right now it's still a bit clunky.
Here are some things that I feel need to shift right now:
We need a regular wake up time! Our natural tendency seems to be to keep waking up later and going to sleep later. This does not work for us for two main reasons. 1. Gavriel has to go to work and he needs time in the morning to do Hebrew with the kids. 2. When the kids go to sleep too late Gavriel and I not get enough time with each other.
We need a better line up of fun projects. I really love the idea of un-schooling where kids will take interested in some subject or activity and I can somehow easily facilitate that in the moment. What seems to be true for our family right now is that we do a little better with some structure. I feel like I need to expose them to things that they might take interest in or they might not.
It's also true that sometimes I will overlook something that they are interested in because it somehow does not match the picture in my head. For example, Aderet is obessed with listening to Harry Potter books on CD (which is it's own funny story because she had originally insisted that even if I took it out from the library she would definitely not listen to it.) Today, I had a plan that we would sit on the couch together and snuggle while we read Little House in the Big Woods and thought of some projects we could do. But Avigayil and Aderet really just wanted to listen to Harry Potter. So on one hand I was enjoying that they were really into something and on the other hand I was having to fight back the voices of judgement in my head that they were just sitting there.
The kids need to get out of the house more. Once a week the kids all go to Boulder Explore. Adin seems to really enjoy it - especially the social aspect of it. Aderet claims to not want to go at all - and I guess for my sake I want to believe that she likes parts of it. Avigayil is somewhere in the middle. Adin has also been going to a computer class though science discovery, he started in a club that is meant to inspire writing called Druidawn Creations, and he also goes to Judo twice a week and is a Mother's helper for Mitten on the Thrusdays that he does not go to Druidawn. We've been to the Blue Skies park day a couple of times recently which was good as well. The girls don't get out as much but I'm trying to change that. I just signed them up for a homeschool rock climbing class at the East Boulder Rec Center and they are on the wait list for gymnastics. I'd also like to sign them up for one of the Science Discovery classes or some other class.
The basic theme is that I'm ready for a little more structure again. Thank G-d tomorrow is Friday so we can rest into Shabbat and start the whole project up again next week.